Marquage CE

What is the purpose of an ETA?

The European Technical Assessment, like standardization, is an essential tool for competitiveness. It is what grants the CE mark, which serves as a passport for your products into the European market.

Which products does it cover?

An ETA is applied to a given construction product that is not covered (or only partially covered) by a harmonised European standard.

Obtaining the CE mark

A European Technical Assessment confirms that a product not covered by a harmonised European standard satisfies sufficient criteria to be awarded the CE mark, according to special standards such as the ETAG (from the old Construction Products Directive) and European Assessment Documents (EAD – from the Construction Products Regulation, in force as of 2013). To ensure constancy in product performance, the ETA also defines the provisions for the Assessment and Verification of Constancy of Performances (AVCP) that the manufacturer must follow depending on the level of certification, whether supervised by a certifying body or not.

Once the ETA has been obtained, it enables industry players to submit a Declaration of Performance (DOP) which authorises them to take part in the "normal" process for obtaining the CE mark from a certifying body. This is a voluntary approach undertaken by the manufacturer.

European Technical Assessments succeeded European Technical Approvals with the publication of Regulation No. 305/2011 (known as the Construction Products Regulation, or CPR) of the European Parliament and of the Council of March 9, 2011, laying down harmonized conditions for the marketing of construction products and repealing Council Directive 89/106/EEC.

 All Technical Assessment Bodies (TAB) are grouped together within the European Organization for Technical Assessment (EOTA). Member States designate those organizations that are capable of issuing ETAs. France appointed two organisations – one of which is Cerema – to process applications for construction products used in infrastructure. As a Technical Assessment Body, Cerema is here to support you and offer advice and guidance on obtaining the European Technical Assessment.

ETA normative documents

ETA are based on European Assessment Document (EAD) and European Technical Approval Guidelines (ETAGs) created by Directive 89/106/EEC that have not yet been converted into EAD. These texts are drafted and adopted by the European Organisation for Technical Assessment (EOTA) and published, just like harmonised standards, by the European Commission in the Official Journal of the European Union. If a European Assessment Document exists, the EOTA will use it as a reference for creating the ETA. If this is not the case, it must first compile the EAD in coordination with other competent technical assessment bodies. This document is then drafted and adopted by the EOTA.

Cerema’s specialist fields for construction products

As a member of EOTA since 1996, Cerema participates actively in standardization work relating to infrastructure via the ETA unit and BNTRA (French office for standardization of transport, roads and layout). A public body under the supervision of the Ministry for the Ecological Transition, Cerema was appointed, by the Decree of 27 April 2015, a Technical Assessment Body for the following fields:

1 Precast normal weight and lightweight concrete or autoclaved aerated concrete products
3 Membranes including those in liquid-applied form (for sealing or vapour barrier purposes)
5 Structural bearings, pins for structural joints
8 Geotextiles, geomembranes and related products
12 Circulation fixtures: road equipment
15 Cements, building limes and other hydraulic binders
16 Reinforcing and prestressing steel for concrete (and related products). Pretensioning kits
20 Structural metallic products and related products
23 Road construction products
24 Aggregates
26 Products for concrete, mortar and grout
34 Kits – rockfall protection netting, geotechnics


A few examples of ETA completed with Cerema

Contact and ETA Application Form

Unit Manager: Alain GHISOLI
Technical Coordinators: Barthélémy PETIT, Sarah MEDYNSKI
Tel. : +33(0)1 60 52 31 31

Ask for the European Technical Assessments Unit
Adress: Cerema Transport Infrastructures and Materials - 110 rue de Paris - BP 214 - 77487 Provins Cedex

For all information about EOTA:

logo EOTA

List of DEE, ETAGs and ETE published on EOTA website.

For useful documentation on the Construction Product Directive (CPD):

European Construction Product Regulation

To find out about TABs and certifying bodies